Book Forum  >  General Discussion  >  Radio and TV after an EMP att...

Pages: « 1 »

K4YRK
Radio and TV after an EMP attack
Date: May 25, 2009 5:55:15 AM PDT
Author: K4YRK

After an EMP attack as described in "One Second After" it is very likely that all TV and commercial radio statiions will be off the air due to the burn-out effects of the EMP.
The power grid failure will also act to keep most off the air. Only some stations have generator backups and they would have to be hardened to survive also. How soon they could return to the air would vary greatly.
I am an amateur radio operator and also a broadcast radio engineer. Ham radio operators play an important role in emergency communications and many have emergency power backup. The biggest problem will be protecting their ham radio's from the EMP attack.
I have posted an article about this topic, on a national ham radio Website, www.eham.com
As you can see, the article caused lot's of interest and many replies, both supportive and not.
I do believe that soon after such an attack, many hams would be on the air to relay emergency communications and also some commercial radio and TV stations may be back on with reduced power. The novel predicts almost total lack of communications which really makes the situation much worst.
It is very important that the broadcast service and emergency radio system be hardened for such an attack, and return to the air to provide communications as soon as possible. Also every citizen should have a small am/fm/shortwave radio put back and protected with a metal cage or cover to be able to receive such broadcast after the attack.

cfesperman
EMP and Radios
Date: May 31, 2009 12:32:19 AM PDT
Author: cfesperman